BOLD FACE NAMES

Hagaris the Handsome was in the house last night . I met him in the afternoon at a bar at which my friend Sian Hutchinson was performing her funny solo show. I went to there with Brooklyn Ukelele man Ben Lerman and his mates. Ben and I went to the bar to get some coffee and this Viking impersonator cat Hagaris, was having a big glass of scotch and telling no one in particular about an american woman’s show he had seen.

So I took that as an opening to give him my flyer.
I tried to pretend I wasn’t Marga Gomez just her flyer girl but you can’t pull the angora over Hag’s eyes and then he asked if he could take a picture I said -really?- Then he leaned in got close to my mouth as I squirmed away. And he froze there and then I stared at him freezing there. No camera by the way. It was very lizard like the whole thing. He was in my front row that night. I wasn’t surprised.Well he bought a ticket so he tended to talk to me now and then during the show. Unfortunately his story was a sad one. He lives in Glasgow. He wants to go back with his ex wife. They got married in toronto and more stuff I didn’t want to hear.. That almost sucked all the funny out of the room but the audience and I worked together as a team to get the comedy back. Even the tech person told me it was the best show so far.

I like to say hi to everybody after shows and most people are great and respectful but there are a few grabby people here who may ruin this practice. In the lobby  Hagaris put his hat on my head- then took it back. I don’t like to have old man hats placed on my head. One woman ran her hand along my face. I literally flinched. But I thought to myself well maybe it’s the scottish culture then she starts talking and she’s like from OHIO!!  Not cool.  Not as bad as last weekend at a club when another woman grabbed my face with one hand and then poked her finger in the gap between my teeth with the other. WTF? I’ll be bobbing in weaving out of innapropriate touching for the next 2 weeks here in Edinburgh.

Last night I saw a shooting star on the way back to my flat about 1am. Part of the metor shower I think. Thanks to the universe for that.

4 responses to “BOLD FACE NAMES

  1. Hope all is well!! Looking forward to seeing you in London! Great show!! x

  2. Marga

    Saw you perform on 15.08.09 in Edinburgh and you were fantastic and I hope you don’t stop meeting scary Scottish and/or American people after the show it was really nice to be able to meet you, say hi and thanks for a fab show. I have posted your link with the code word on Facebook and e-mail telling people to come see you – brilliant best act I’ve seen this year keep up the good work! and enjoy the rest of your festival.

    Kirsten

  3. Old man hat on your head? That’s worthy of a beat down.

  4. OMG, I wanna be a Marga Gomez flyer girl! Isn’t that how j.lo got started? Continue breaking a leg in Ed. And, from the sound of it, a couple grabby fingers too. xo.

Leave a Reply

