2 weeks 1 pair of pants

I’m overly excited about my new shoe horn, an amenity from the Ritz Carlton last month. Perhaps I wasn’t supposed to take it home. I sincerely thought the hotel provides these for us like soap. I always take the soaps. I know my career is healthy when I don’t have to buy soap all year. With a shoe horn I’m ballin like P-Diddy. BUT-what if this shoe horn wasn’t fresh and had been forced down a businessman’s wingtips prior to my arrival? Whatevs. I have 3 pairs of hight tops and this will save me minutes putting them on. MINUTES that I can devote to my servitude to the blogosphere. I signed on to some ‘blog everyday for a month campaign’, a big leap from my anemic quasi- weekly entries.

Still lots of catching up to do before I’m even put to the test of getting into issues outside of my navel. And I got lots of pictures to share. Beats reading. In these pictures, taken over the last two weeks in June I’m sporting the innards of an 18 inch travelpro carry-on that I packed to one square inch of the life of  it’s zipper. My girlfriend could not fathom it. She needs a suitcase for her shoes. 

I needed only one pair of shoes, wore them onto the plane with my one pair of plaid pants and all my jackets worn at once- like I get that chilly on the plane. This is a space saving technique I learned from a hassidic dude who boarded the plane wearing four hats stacked on his head. In the carry-on I stuffed flip flops, two pairs of shorts, a few shirts, underwear and socks that I handwashed in hotels so I could stay minty fresh. That’s what I got by on besides my costume for “..Iced Latina” one more pair of jeans, loafers and dress shirt. Okay technically I had two pairs of pants but the jeans didn’t count since they could only to be worn during my Off Broadway show- even after I stained my plaid pants with fuschia magic marker. I am an expert light traveller. I’m still high maintenance- I somehow manage to pack plenty of make-up (I’m an actress y’know) a travel pillow and white noise machine into that poor little bag, everything in it spring loaded. I had suitable looks for emceeing Pride events in Boston and NYC, playing Off Broadway, going out in NYC (dives) and walking around the pool in San Juan.

With Murray Hill at Monday Night Bingo (Bowery Poetry Club)

With Murray Hill at Monday Night Bingo (Bowery Poetry Club) Three days before opening night. I'm wearing my favorite japanese jacket.

 

One pair of pants can get you into the finest restaurant in NYC if you don't mind using the plastic silverware and eating directly off a papertowel

One pair of pants can get you into the finest restaurant in NYC if you don't mind using the plastic silverware and eating directly off paper towels.

 

My Director and I with our losing Bingo Card. Unlucky at Bingo -Lucky in theater is my motto.

My director David Schweizer and I with our losing Bingo card. Unlucky at Bingo -Lucky in theater is my motto.

 

 

My Off- Broadway gig was a partnership between Teatrostagefest and Puerto Rican Traveling Theatre.  How fantastico is it that they presented a queer Latina in NYC. I know I’m universal but … And it’s the second time I’ve worked for both producers. First time maybe they didn’t know I was gay.

IMG_4169

My peops hanging outside after the show.

Miriam Colon founded Puerto Rican Traveling Theater.She co-produced me Off-Broadway in 2006 in LOS BIG NAMES. She was one of the handful of Latina's getting work in Hollywood in the 50's and 60's. She played Scarface's mom and I love her. She's my hero.

Miriam Colon founded Puerto Rican Traveling Theater.She co-produced me Off-Broadway now and in 2006 in LOS BIG NAMES. She was one of the handful of Latina's getting work in Hollywood in the 50's and 60's. She played Scarface's mom and I love her. She's my hero. I'm her Scarface.

3 responses to “2 weeks 1 pair of pants

  1. Sorry to say that I don’t read blogs much. Even though I love Marga’s comedy and I am a trained professional, I just can’t seem to focus on reading.
    That’s why I like Twitter – If I see that Marga’s in S.F. – I just go. The last minute thing works great for me. I like to go on my own…no need for small talk before the show, I can usually get a good seat as a singleton and I can sprint off right after Marga’s set to be in bed at a reasonable hour.

    ~Alex~

    P.S. I cracked up when that other comedienne said she saw a Slinky in an elevator!

  2. Oh THAT type of packing. (Checked out your blog after seeing the blip on twitter)

Leave a Reply

