1500 people love me but I want more.

Hi Readers!

I posted mucho pictures from my gig with Alec Mapa for you tonight – BUT  first…Happy Gay Sunday or as America calls it -Tony night. Props to Oscar Eustace , The Public Theater and cast of Hair. Oscar won a Tony. Which is better than Tony winning an Oscar. Oscar gave a radical acceptance speech – talked about the tribe- and equality– pointing to his wedding ring, wink wink. cropped-cover_mar06-sm.jpgLove you my hetero bro. Not only do I want to see Hair. I want to grow it down past my ass just like when I was a teenge girl lost in Long Island. Get me Rogaine now! gomezHey -that reminds me- my new comedy ‘Long Island Iced Latina’ opens in NYC June 18th for four consecutive nights. If you are anywhere near NY you have to come to this show. It’s funny and exotic and fragrant and only $20 bucks. So excited to be back at the sweetest theater in New York – The Puerto Rican Traveling theater on 47th st-  Teatrostagefest has all the info you need to have some laughs with a strange Latina http://www.teatrostagefest.org/ny-productions.html

Marga Gomez, Alec Mapa backstage in Santa Rosa

Marga Gomez, Alec Mapa backstage in Santa Rosa

I had a big night Saturday June 6 sharing a bill with Alec Mapa at  the 1500 plus seats Wells Fargo Center  in the idyllic wine country of Sonoma County, CA. WE SOLD OUT BABY. (Except for 50 seats) 99.9% SOLD OUT!! 

The WFC  is a beautiful state of the art performance hall on a par with any in the world. And there was a baby grand piano in my dressing room. 

IMG_4019

My girlfriend said it was the best set she’d ever seen me do. I tried to be happy about that and not fret over times she saw me when I was less than perfect.

 

GF chillaxing in the dressing room while I play piano.

GF chillaxing in the dressing room while I play piano.

I did a lot of fairly new material about Sonia Sotomayor, riots, quitting pot, and ended with sex of course.

These gang signs mean you have 7 minutes left.

These gang signs mean you have 7 minutes left.

I think what made my set really work is that I took my time. It felt like an audience that wanted to savor stuff and in a big hall like that laughs ripple over a distance.  The other advantage for a comic is that this venue has a huge digital clock at your feet. The audience can’t see it but as a comic you know how to measure each bit and you don’t have to worry about going too long and stepping on somebody elses time. And you don’t have to look for that hard to see blue light or red lightin the back of the room that tells you all of a sudden you’ve gone too long.

In comedy rooms – the emcee will hold up a cell phone because of that blinding lcd light. They do that everywhere in the Bay Area. If I run a room again I’m holding up a rotary phone, just as effective.  

Marga and producer friend Ellen Silver before the show

Marga and producer friend Ellen Silver before the show

Anyways with the optimum conditions and sweet producers Robyn and Ellen “We Mean It Productions”and Rick Bartilini from the WFC it was a dream gig. It felt like I was surfing, gliding and floating and then I killed ’em.

Marga and Rick Bartalini- He's The Man!

Marga and Rick Bartalini- He's The Man!

 

 

The occasion was Sonoma Pride and I do think this may be the best Co- Bill I’ve ever been on. Alec is a sweetheart and because I went first I got to sit back and be thoroughly entertained first by his sexy rendition of Beyonce’s Single Ladies- (better than Beyonce) then by his rich and classic stand- up material. I wish I could quote some of it but no comic really wants their lines taken out of context in a blog. My girlfriend and I have been repeating his lines all day. I didn’t tell him that I stopped watching Ugly Betty after season one (which I loved) but I’ll just catch up and see it now – Hello Netflix.

Hey thanks for checking out my blog. I only do this for attention. So please come back. I’ll try to have at least one new blog weekly. I think it’s possible to subscribe to this but I don’t know how. If you have any blogging tips on how to drive traffic to my blog in language that a dummy can understand drop me a line  at gomezland-contact at yahoo dot com. Thanks Sonoma for the laughs and the Pride.

 

Ellen, Me (tragically wearing a beige bra under black) Rick, Alec and Robyn

Ellen, Me (tragically wearing a beige bra under black) Rick, Alec and Robyn

 

I wanted these after show treats. Took a picture instead. I'm on a photo diet.

I wanted these after show treats. Took a picture instead. I'm on a photo diet.

 

Me and my new BFFs Lisa and Tita.

Me and my new BFFs Lisa and Tita.

 

 

 

 

6 responses to “1500 people love me but I want more.

  1. We do look fabulous don’t we? OK. xo

  2. You are such a doll!!!! Honey, if you don’t Photoshop or remove that fat photo of me with you, I will hunt you down. I’m 39 and single. Things are bad enough!!! The group photo is so cute! Do you smell like lavender? Love you! See you next time!

  3. Hey Minnie
    Thank you! Drive that traffic gurl!

  4. Your Saturday night sounded fabulous! Saturday night bits should always end with a bit of sex…or even a lot.

    I’m going to share your blog on my Facebook ’cause you need more attention!

Leave a Reply

